Fall TV 2015

Oh, hello there. I’ve been good, and you? We are just about getting to the point where the idea of fall being the time for new television shows is dead. But we’re not there yet.

Normally, I spend a lot of time talking about what I’m not going to watch. But this year, I’m focusing on the positive – the shows I definitely will be watching…until they inevitably disappoint me.

NEW SHOWS

CRAZY EX-GIRLFRIEND

This was developed to be a half hour comedy on Showtime. Now it is going to be an hour long dramedy on the CW. Oh, and it’s also a musical. And completely insane. And good?

I don’t think anyone will feel part way about this show, you love it or you hate it and you probably know just by watching the trailer for it. Fuck it, I’m in.

 

THE MAN IN THE HIGH CASTLE

This is on Amazon, and it’s basically “what if we lost World War II?”. That’s about all I need to know.

 

DIFFICULT PEOPLE

Let’s get this straight: I don’t like Billy Eichner. I don’t like yelling all the time. I don’t like his weird eye. However, I love this show. I’ve already watched all of the episodes of this (on Hulu) and it is GREAT. But it might just be specifically made for me. There are completely obscure jokes that I can’t imagine that many people appreciating, but if you do, you’ll really, really appreciate them.

 

SCROTAL RECALL

As Selfie taught us, or didn’t teach us because it got quickly canceled, don’t judge things by titles! Scrotal Recall is a horrible title. It’s actually even worse than Selfie, because it makes you not want to recommend it to people. It’s very hard to say “hey, you should watch Scrotal Recall” to people out loud in public. And if you do they will assume you are joking. No one would name a show that. But they did.

And it’s really good! It’s British, which I usually find annoying. But it’s just smart, and funny, and has an emotional punch that will hit you right in the scrotals.

 

THE GRINDER

This was the best network sitcom pilot this year. It’s funny.
QUANTICO

I doubt I’ll actually watch this but I could get talked into it. It’s one of those where if it was on HBO I’d be all in.

 

RED OAKS/CASUAL

These are comedies on Amazon and Hulu, respectively, and I honestly don’t know much about them except that they didn’t want to meet with me. But I’ve been hearing good things.

 

RETURNING SHOWS

FARGO

The best show on television, period.

To think, there was once a time when people thought True Detective was the best show and Fargo was just okay. Oh, how wrong you were. I don’t care if Kirsten Dunst is involved, WATCH IT!!!

 

LAST MAN ON EARTH

This was the only network comedy that I watched last year. I loved it. And it changed development season this year because they didn’t think it was going to work, and then it did. So now the rage is buying high concept comedies that don’t sound like sitcom premises. It’s all about “standing out” in a “crowded market place” (jargon!), aka having a show where everyone in the world is dead except for one dude (and a few others).

But it’s not that easy. And I fear we are in for a future as bleak as Phil’s, with over the top premises that are poorly executed strewn across the TV landscape, or even worse, as unaired episodes on Hulu.

 

SHARK TANK/BEYOND THE TANK

Anything with tank.

 

9 thoughts on “Fall TV 2015

Leave a Reply

